Digital Photography Contest Winners

The Fourth Annual Digital Photography Awards Celebration of the Pagosa Springs Photography Club was held on October 13 at the PLPOA Clubhouse, and by Zoom. This year 17 photographers submitted images in four categories: Landscape, Creative, People, and Nature. Images in each category were judged by a professional photographer on the bases of composition, impact, and technical quality. In addition, Club members voted to determine “People’s Choice” winners for each of the four categories. 

In the Landscape category, Dave Anderson won first place for his image Great Sand Dunes Sunset. Second place went to Andy Butler, for Ancient Twilight, and Chris Roebuck received third place for Death Valley 2021. Dave Minkel’s photo Firehole River was awarded Honorable mention in the category. In the People’s Choice voting , Anderson’s Great Sand Dunes Sunset was 1st, Bill Milner received 2nd for Utah Toadstools -1 and John Farley was awarded 3rd for Approaching Snow Squall. (Click the thumbnails to see larger versions of the images).

The winning image in the Creative category was Coyote Maddy by Bill Milner. Milner also received 2nd in this group for his image Tin Cup Cemetery. Third place went to Dave Minkel for Engine, and Linda Pampinella received Honorable Mention for Oasis. For the Creative category, the People’s Choice winner was Buckskin Gulch by Andy Butler, 2nd place went to Linda Pampinella for Oasis, and 3rd place was a tie between Black Light, by June Russell and Globe Mallow Soft by Steve Merchant. 

Among images in the People category, Andy Butler’s In the Hall of the Mountain King was judged 1st. Angel, by Barbara Jetley received 2nd place. Scott Galabota’s Creede Hotel received 3rd and Linda Pampinella received Honorable Mention for Faces. In the People’s Choice voting for this category, Galabota received 1st for Creede Hotel, Pampinella’s Faces was 2nd, and Jetley’s Angel received 3rd. 

The winning image in the Nature category was Ernestine by Chris Roebuck. Second place went to Andy Butler’s Here’s Looking at you and Darry Saffer received 3rd for Meals on Wings. This was a very competitive category, and three images received Honorable Mention. These are Owls by Dave Minkel, Poppy by Natalie Duran, and Flower Power, by Steve Merchant. In the People’s Choice voting, Diane Cirksena won for her image Rain, you want Rain. Minkel’s Owls received 2nd, while there was a tie for 3rd between Combat Zone by Darryl Saffer and Butler’s Here’s Looking at you

Congratulations to all the winners! Thanks to everyone who entered, and all those who voted for the People’s choice, and those who helped with the logistics of the contest and Awards Celebration, including Scott Galabota, John Farley, Susanne Russell, and our judges, Mark Langford, Gary Musgrave, and Jeff Laydon. 

Author: fotohiker

webs are for spiders

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: